crippled by mission peak

As I am writing this…I sit here typing feeling half crippled waist down (literally). It’s been 2 p a i n f u l days and I can still barely lift my legs, nor can I roll around comfortably and freely in bed. The last time I felt this kind of pain was the day after I went surfing, but that was waist up. Nonetheless, this was such a memorable experience, and I feel so accomplished for finishing the Mission Peak Hike with Allen, Laurel, Liz, and Travis. It is all a blur on how Liz and I ever made it up the peak with the rest of the group, but I am so thankful for their constant motivation and support (or more like their peer pressure and lies) that pushed my butt up that 2517ft peak and hiking a total of 5.7 miles in 5 hours! It was awesome how it wasn’t just a desert-y terrain, but there were also rocks, grass, and plenty of animals along the way that made things exciting!

“Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”
-Hebrews 12:1

Even though the hike was long, tiring, and painful…I was reminded of Hebrews 12:1. I was reminded of my Christian walk and how it is a race to the “finish line” and not a race with others, but rather a race to complete together with fellow brother and sisters in Christ. So in another sense, I was encouraged and thankful knowing that I had fellow brothers and sisters to struggle hiking up and down Mission Peak with, to enjoy the beautiful view together with, to savor the accomplishment and rewards (Red Robins!) with, and to endure the tiredness and pain with. Anyways, the “finish line” is going to be even sweeter…let’s keep running together!

Cheers, Serena

4 comments

  1. jamiekay

    lolz peer pressure and lies

  2. You’re such a good sport, thanks for persevering through the pain hahaha!

  3. Nice computerized typography.

  4. Pingback: mission peak – second time around | q o o m u i

Leave a Reply

